Country roads, take me home…to Boyle?


Every summer, my family and I go camping at our lake lot out near Boyle, Alberta. We’ve been doing this for almost 10 years, and what an adventure it’s been. Unfortunately, it looks like this might be our last year enjoying the beautiful Alberta weather out at Skeleton and Amisk beaches, so I want to try to take full advantage of the opportunity I’ve been given.


For 10 years, we’ve passed signs for the Boyle Rodeo and always joke about going, but my boyfriend and I decided to finally make it a reality. The Boyle Rodeo is put on by the Boyle AG Society and is apparently pretty legit. My friend and I dropped in one year as a joke, thinking it was just going to be like a teeny tiny petting zoo and maybe a horse, but it’s more like a mini Stampede! Since we were only there for about an hour, I never felt like I got to have a full experience of the rodeo so I was pretty excited to be there this year!

The rodeo lasts all weekend, but we decided to take a day trip out for the Saturday festivities. The rodeo portion of the day was from 1pm-6pm, and although we arrived a little late we did miss much! The day was full of bull riding, barrel racing, sheep riding, chicken chasing, bronco riding, calf wrestling, and calf roping. My favorites definitely were the bronco and bull riding!


On top of all that, the weather was gorgeous! Couldn’t have asked for a better afternoon!


Being out in the area made me realize how much I’ve missed the lake and camping this summer. I think I’m going to try to head out there for a few more day trips and maybe spend some time out at the beach to even out the tan I got at the rodeo!

Any local rodeos near any of you explorers? What’s your favourite event? 

Leave a comment