Roaming Edmonton: Neon Sign Museum


So I think it been exposed to one of the most interesting attractions in Edmonton. The Neon Sign Museum. Look in’ for the bright lights of Edmonton baby.

This past weekend, the boyfriend and I went to the Edmonton Art Gallery, and when we were done we decided to explore the downtown area. Never before have I felt like such a tourist in my own town. Since I’m never in the downtown area, everything is a new experience.


The boyfriend wanted me to see the new downtown arena, soon to be the new home to the Edmonton Oilers. He brought us on a slight detour to 104 Street, where the Neon Sign Museum is.


The Neon Sign Museum is pretty simple – neon signs on the side of an older brick building (hence totally free to visit). It is an attempt by the city to revitalize the area and preserve part of Edmonton’s past. According to their website, this museum is the first of its kind in Canada, which makes it a must-see if you visit Edmonton!!

The signs are iconic for Edmontonians and are meant to reflect the character of Edmonton’s past.


A few years ago, my mom and I were incredibly disappointed to see that Bee Bell Bakery had been closed down. So many good memories of weekend trips to go get fresh bread or other goodies. I can guarantee you that there is unfortunately no where else in Edmonton that made better baked goods than Bee Bell. Wherever we saw the big neon sign from the distance it always brought warm feelings. It’s funny how small things like that can jog your memory and matter so much.


That being said, I got all the warm fuzzies back when we walked down the Neon Sign Museum street and saw the old Bee Bell sign! There are some super old signs up on the wall, some that I even recognized (like Call the Kettle Black)! 


Definitely one of the cooler places in Edmonton. A hidden gem in good ole Edmonton. Next time you go to check out a hockey game, drop by!

Anywhere in your towns that have hidden gems like this?

Leave a comment