My Next Adventure…

  
Woohoo! We’ve finally figured it out! In about 1 week from now, my boyfriend and I will be hitting the road and heading to Golden, British Columbia! 

After musing over whether to go to Banff/Jasper/Kananaskis, we decided that we’ve been there too much in the past few summers and that we should use this opportunity to go a little further from home. But not too far from the mountains! We can always do Banff or Jasper on a weekend this summer. I’ve never been to Golden before, and it looks like it’ll have some good hikes. Yoho National Park looks absolutely breathtaking, so that will be one of the priorities of the trip. Looks like I’ll have to go buy some new hiking boots…and maybe a bottle of Advil as well haha 🙂 I’ll be surprised if we ever rest on this trip! When we get to the mountains, hiking is the goal and we go go go. 

  
Photo courtesy of Parks Canada Website: Radium Hot Springs

Soon, we’ll head out early in the morning, passing through Banff (I might try to sell my boyfriend on Jasper instead, longer drive but more scenery!) to get to Golden. Then, we’ll spend the next few days travelling southwards and hitting up Radium and Kootenay National Park. We might even stop in at Glacier National Park if we have time. It’ll be an adventure, that’s for sure! I always hate when our adventures have a lot of driving (I’m a control freak, don’t drive my car, that’s my job!), but I hear that this path has some of the nicest views of the mountains. I’ve never been the the area, only heard about it from friends. If you guys have any suggestions as to where to go and what to see in that area, let me know! I’ve never been a skier, soooo I always pass up the opportunity to go on ski trips to the area with friends, partially because I’m scared to roll myself and/or others down a mountain. I’ll just admire the mountains from afar, thanks! Hiking good, skiing bad. 

Despite what my boyfriend prefers, we’ll be staying in a hotel, so I’ll be spending tonight looking up the deals! Trip planning can be hard when one person wants a hotel and the other wants a tent. The mountains are a little too chilly at night for my diva self to enjoy a tent at this time of year! If the boyfriend wants to freeze his booty off then that’s his perogative, just give me a nice cozy hotel room! After the whole trip is said and done, we’ll spend a few days at home before looking into somewhere to go camping, preferably by a lake. I’m still pushing for Kananaskis, but we’ll see where the trail leads, we might do somewhere closer to home 🙂 still a few more exams left before I have to adult and be a university graduate. When one adventure ends, it’s time to start a new one. 

Like I said before, send me some suggestions of your favourite places to see and hike in the Golden area! 

For my other post on my trip planning adventure, check it out here!

2 thoughts on “My Next Adventure…

    1. omfgkelsey

      Canada is pretty great 🙂 I used to take living so close to the mountains for granted, but now that I travel less with my family I definitely can appreciate it more!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment