Roaming Edmonton: The Edmonton Book Store

  
Ok guys, I think we may have found the best shop on Whyte Ave. I was planning on making this post originally about Edmonton’s Legislature Grounds, but the weather hasn’t been too great this week and the grounds are best on beautiful days! I’ll post later in the summer about the Legislature, but for now welcome to my first post of my Roaming Emonton series. Whyte Avenue is literally a treasure trove of cool shops, restaurants, and bars. I’ve walked up and down it probably a million times and never saw this shop before until my boyfriend pointed it out. We’re always on the hunt for some good books!

Back to my shopping adventure: this little book shop, the Edmonton Book Store. It’s on 10533 82 Ave, smack dab in the middle of Whyte Ave. Literally the coolest book store ever. I was so blown away by how cool the shop was I didn’t take any pictures. Guess that just gives me another reason to visit!! Next time I go, I’ll take some pictures to show you guys. If I go in again I might not come back out though! 😉

Every book that you could ever imagine. Everything looks so vintage, so in order, I think I’m in love. It resembles an old comfy library, you could wander for ages and probably spend almost every dollar you’ve ever made without even realizing it. Used books are my jam. 

  
The boyfriend and I have been puzzling over where to take our next adventure. We tossed around the idea of Calgary, Kananaskis, Banff, and Jasper. Buuuuut, realizing how much time I’ll have off between my exams and summer job we may as well make it a far far away adventure! Now we’re considering heading out of good ol’ Alberta and into British Columbia. Such a treat considering that we’ll be road tripping it in my trusty Honda Civic so it’ll be a long drive there!

In the Edmonton Book Store, there’s a whole section dedicated to one of my true loves: mountains. Ok, well I guess it’s supposed to be more of a nature section but there’s an entire wall of books about mountains, I could barely drag myself away.

  
So, I found a great book The Mountains of Canada by Randy Morse. This book is kind of what sparked my realization that I had a ton of time off and could probably make it all the way to British Columbia for a vacation to see some of these gorgeous peaks!

Still running ideas past my boyfriend, I’ll update y’all as we make more decisions!

I need some advice though! I’m not as familiar with the British Columbia side of the Rockies as I am with the Alberta sides. Where do you guys like to visit?? Let me know where and what I should see over there! Help me convince the boyfriend on BC 🙂

For my into to the Roaming Edmonton series, click here!

3 thoughts on “Roaming Edmonton: The Edmonton Book Store

  1. Pingback: Roaming Edmonton: the River Valley Walking Bridge – Where I Roam

  2. Pingback: Roaming Edmonton: T&T Market – Where I Roam

  3. Pingback: Roaming Edmonton: What to do on a Rainy Day – Where I Roam

Leave a comment